Year in cancer
2026 in cancer
What the index holds for 2026: regulatory decisions dated that year, studies first posted that year, PubMed output per cancer for that year and the registry observations whose reference year it is. Every figure is a count of dated source records — nothing is estimated; the current year is incomplete by construction.
2026 is still in progress: counts grow with each connector run and registries have not yet published 2026 observations.
Regulatory
Approval records dated 2026 (114)
Approved, accelerated or conditional records by authority; original applications and records naming one cancer are listed first. One record is one decision for one application or product identifier.
FDA · US: 71 records / 45 drugsHealth Canada · CA: 31 records / 18 drugsEMA · EU: 12 records / 12 drugs
- Sep 4, 2026Camizestrant FDA · US original application accelerated approved Malignant Breast Neoplasmin combination with a CDK4/6 inhibitor (abemaciclib, palbociclib, or ribociclib) for the treatment of adult patients with hormone receptor (HR) positive, human…openfda
- May 29, 2026Nilotinib FDA · US original application approved Chronic Myeloid Leukemia, Philadelphia Chromosome Negative, BCR-ABL1 PositiveAdult patients with chronic phase (CP) and accelerated phase (AP) Ph+ CML resistant to or intolerant to prior therapy that included imatinib.openfda
- May 1, 2026Ruxolitinib FDA · US original application approved Polycythemia Verapolycythemia vera in adults who have had an inadequate response to or are intolerant of hydroxyurea.openfda
- Feb 20, 2026Fluorouracil FDA · US original application approved Pancreatic AdenocarcinomaPancreatic Adenocarcinomaopenfda
- Feb 20, 2026Fluorouracil FDA · US original application approved Gastric AdenocarcinomaGastric Adenocarcinomaopenfda
- Feb 20, 2026Fluorouracil FDA · US original application approved Breast AdenocarcinomaAdenocarcinoma of the Breastopenfda
- Feb 20, 2026Fluorouracil FDA · US original application approved Colon AdenocarcinomaFAVLYXA is a nucleoside metabolic inhibitor indicated for the treatment of patients with: Adenocarcinoma of the Colon and Rectumopenfda
- Feb 13, 2026Etoposide FDA · US original application approved Malignant Testicular NeoplasmRefractory testicular canceropenfda
- Feb 13, 2026Etoposide FDA · US original application approved Lung Small Cell CarcinomaSmall cell lung canceropenfda
- Feb 3, 2026Leucovorin FDA · US original application approved Malignant Colorectal NeoplasmTreatment of patients with metastatic colorectal cancer in combination with 5-fluorouracil.openfda
- Feb 3, 2026Leucovorin FDA · US original application approved Malignant Colorectal NeoplasmRescue after high-dose methotrexate (MTX) therapy in adult and pediatric patients. 1.2 Reducing the toxicity of: Methotrexate in adult and pediatric patients…openfda
- May 29, 2026Nilotinib FDA · US original application approved cancer not stated in this recordAdult patients with newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome positive chronic myeloid leukemia (Ph+ CML) in chronic phase.openfda
- May 1, 2026Trabectedin FDA · US original application approved cancer not stated in this recordEVDI is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with unresectable or metastatic liposarcoma or leiomyosarcoma who received a prior…openfda
- May 1, 2026Ruxolitinib FDA · US original application approved cancer not stated in this recordintermediate or high-risk myelofibrosis, including primary myelofibrosis, post-polycythemia vera myelofibrosis, and post-essential thrombocythemia…openfda
- Feb 3, 2026Leucovorin FDA · US original application approved cancer not stated in this recordReducing the toxicity of methotrexate in adult and pediatric patients with impaired methotrexate elimination or folic acid antagonists or dihydrofolate…openfda
- Jun 19, 2026Palbociclib EMA · EU centralised approved Malignant Breast NeoplasmPalbociclib Viatris is indicated for the treatment of hormone receptor (HR)‑positive, human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2)‑negative locally advanced…ema
- May 29, 2026Tarlatamab EMA · EU centralised approved Lung Small Cell CarcinomaImdylltra is indicated as monotherapy for the treatment of adult patients with extensive-stage small cell lung cancer (ES-SCLC), who require systemic therapy…ema
- May 29, 2026Lurbinectedin EMA · EU centralised approved Lung Small Cell CarcinomaZepzelca, in combination with atezolizumab, is indicated for the maintenance treatment of adult patients with extensive-stage small cell lung cancer (ES-SCLC)…ema
- May 28, 2026Nadofaragene Firadenovec EMA · EU centralised approved Non-Muscle Invasive Bladder CarcinomaAdstiladrin is indicated as monotherapy for the treatment of adult patients with Bacillus Calmette-Guérin (BCG)-unresponsive non-muscle invasive bladder cancer…ema
- Apr 23, 2026Pertuzumab EMA · EU centralised approved Early Stage Breast CarcinomaEarly breast cancerPoherdy is indicated for use in combination with trastuzumab and chemotherapy in:- the neoadjuvant treatment of adult patients with…ema
- Feb 16, 2026Nogapendekin Alfa Inbakicept EMA · EU centralised approved Non-Muscle Invasive Bladder CarcinomaAnktiva in combination with Bacillus Calmette-Guérin (BCG) is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with BCG-unresponsive non-muscle invasive bladder…ema
- Feb 12, 2026Aumolertinib EMA · EU centralised approved Lung Non-Small Cell CarcinomaAumseqa as monotherapy is indicated for:- the first-line treatment of adult patients with advanced non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC)whose tumours have EGFR…ema
- Jan 9, 2026Imlunestrant EMA · EU centralised approved Malignant Breast NeoplasmInluriyo is indicated as monotherapy for the treatment of adult patients with oestrogen receptor (ER)-positive, HER2-negative, locally advanced or metastatic…ema
- Sep 22, 2026Trastuzumab Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as ADHEROZA (DIN 02550989) under ATC L01FD01 TRASTUZUMAB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health Canada…health-canada-dpd
- Sep 18, 2026Abemaciclib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-09-18 (see label)openfda
- Sep 14, 2026Ropeginterferon Alfa-2b Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as BESREMI (DIN 02569728) under ATC L03AB15 ROPEGINTERFERON ALFA-2B. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Sep 9, 2026Aminolevulinic Acid FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-09-09 (see label)openfda
- Sep 9, 2026Sevabertinib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-09-09 (see label)openfda
- Aug 28, 2026Ropeginterferon Alfa-2b FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-08-28 (see label)openfda
- Aug 25, 2026Zanidatamab FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-08-25 (see label)openfda
- Aug 25, 2026Tislelizumab FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-08-25 (see label)openfda
- Aug 12, 2026Pimicotinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as PIMJETMI (DIN 02569035) under ATC L01X OTHER ANTINEOPLASTIC AGENTS. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Aug 4, 2026Selpercatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as RETEVMO (DIN 02565676) under ATC L01EX22 SELPERCATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 31, 2026Dasatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as APO-DASATINIB TABLETS (DIN 02562480) under ATC L01EA02 DASATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 31, 2026Dasatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as APO-DASATINIB TABLETS (DIN 02562499) under ATC L01EA02 DASATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 31, 2026Dasatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as APO-DASATINIB TABLETS (DIN 02562472) under ATC L01EA02 DASATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 31, 2026Dasatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as APO-DASATINIB TABLETS (DIN 02562464) under ATC L01EA02 DASATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 31, 2026Dasatinib Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as APO-DASATINIB TABLETS (DIN 02562502) under ATC L01EA02 DASATINIB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Cyclophosphamide Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as CYCLOPHOSPHAMIDE FOR INJECTION USP (DIN 02560216) under ATC L01AA01 CYCLOPHOSPHAMIDE. Indications are not published in the Drug Product…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Enzalutamide FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-24 (see label)openfda
- Jul 24, 2026Enzalutamide FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-24 (see label)openfda
- Jul 24, 2026Amivantamab Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as RYBREVANT SC (DIN 02569140) under ATC L01FX18 AMIVANTAMAB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Amivantamab Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as RYBREVANT SC (DIN 02569175) under ATC L01FX18 AMIVANTAMAB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Amivantamab Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as RYBREVANT SC (DIN 02569167) under ATC L01FX18 AMIVANTAMAB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Amivantamab Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as RYBREVANT SC (DIN 02569159) under ATC L01FX18 AMIVANTAMAB. Indications are not published in the Drug Product Database — see the Health…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 24, 2026Cyclophosphamide Health Canada · CA DIN approved cancer not stated in this recordMarketed in Canada as CYCLOPHOSPHAMIDE FOR INJECTION USP (DIN 02560224) under ATC L01AA01 CYCLOPHOSPHAMIDE. Indications are not published in the Drug Product…health-canada-dpd
- Jul 20, 2026Camizestrant EMA · EU centralised approved cancer not stated in this recordEtcamah in combination with a CDK4/6 inhibitor (palbociclib, ribociclib, or abemaciclib) is indicated for the treatment of adult patients with…ema
- Jul 15, 2026Alpelisib EMA · EU centralised approved cancer not stated in this recordTreatment of adult and paediatric patients aged 2 years and older with severe or life-threatening manifestations of PIK3CA-related overgrowth spectrum (PROS)ema
- Jul 14, 2026Selpercatinib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-14 (see label)openfda
- Jul 14, 2026Selpercatinib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-14 (see label)openfda
- Jul 13, 2026Abemaciclib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-13 (see label)openfda
- Jul 10, 2026Pembrolizumab FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-10 (see label)openfda
- Jul 10, 2026Enfortumab Vedotin FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-10 (see label)openfda
- Jul 1, 2026Ribociclib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-07-01 (see label)openfda
- Jun 29, 2026Roflumilast FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-29 (see label)openfda
- Jun 26, 2026Vimseltinib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-26 (see label)openfda
- Jun 24, 2026Sacituzumab Govitecan FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-24 (see label)openfda
- Jun 24, 2026Palbociclib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-24 (see label)openfda
- Jun 24, 2026Palbociclib FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-24 (see label)openfda
- Jun 24, 2026Sacituzumab Govitecan FDA · US supplement approved cancer not stated in this recordEfficacy supplement 2026-06-24 (see label)openfda
RegulatoryAll 2026 records with filters →
Clinical research
Studies first posted in 2026
ClinicalTrials.gov oncology studies whose first-posted date falls in the year (all study types unless stated). Cancer attribution uses reconciled conditions over descendants; one study can count for several top-level cancers.
- Studies
- 7,757
- Interventional
- 5,924
- Phase III
- 549
- Industry-led
- 1,413
- With posted results
- 3
- Countries with sites
- 119
| Phase | Studies | Interventional | Industry share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Early Phase 1 | 180 | 180 | 18% |
| Phase 1 | 1,219 | 1,219 | 53% |
| Phase 2 | 2,167 | 2,167 | 23% |
| Phase 3 | 549 | 549 | 48% |
| Phase 4 | 113 | 113 | 12% |
| Not applicable / not stated | 4,112 | 2,279 | 6% |
| Cancer | Studies | Phase III |
|---|---|---|
| Malignant Breast Neoplasm | 720 | 51 |
| Malignant Lung Neoplasm | 684 | 55 |
| Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma | 404 | 44 |
| Leukemia | 333 | 37 |
| Malignant Prostate Neoplasm | 324 | 22 |
| Malignant Liver Neoplasm | 273 | 18 |
| Malignant Pancreatic Neoplasm | 237 | 14 |
| Malignant Gastric Neoplasm | 199 | 13 |
| Malignant Central Nervous System Neoplasm | 176 | 5 |
| Multiple Myeloma | 159 | 22 |
| Malignant Ovarian Neoplasm | 153 | 15 |
| Malignant Esophageal Neoplasm | 137 | 13 |
| Lead sponsor | Class | Studies | Phase III |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Yat-sen University | Other | 114 | 18 |
| Fudan University | Other | 112 | 16 |
| Tianjin Medical University Cancer Institute and Hospital | Other | 88 | 4 |
| M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | Other | 70 | 0 |
| West China Hospital | Other | 65 | 5 |
| Cancer Institute and Hospital, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences | Other | 60 | 6 |
| Second Affiliated Hospital, Zhejiang University, School of Medicine | Other | 50 | 3 |
| Institute of Hematology & Blood Diseases Hospital, China | Other | 50 | 4 |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | Other | 50 | 2 |
| Institute of Oncology Ljubljana | Other | 49 | 0 |
Published source: clinicaltrials · first_posted_date as posted